Last verified 4/12
Reminder: You must take the responsibility of being vigilant by always reconfirming the GF status of a menu item and addressing cross-contamination issues each and every time.
Chick-fil-A is a fast food style restaurant. In the Health Information section of their website, Chic-fil-A has a "Gluten Information" page that lists the menu items they consider gluten-free. Click on "Food">"Health/Allergen Information">"Gluten Info".
New gluten-free chicken nuggets in a Kid's Meal: Press release titled "Chick-fil-A Introduces New Kid's Meal" dated January 9, 2012.
Lee in Virginia shared this email response from Chick-fil-A representative, Larry, in 3/10. She had inquired while their shakes were not on their GF list.
"We don't consider our milkshakes gluten free because of cross contamination. The ingredients in our milkshakes are gluten free, with the exception of the Cookies & Cream milkshake. There is a risk of the product containing gluten, the Cookies & Cream milkshake, mixing with the products that are gluten free because all are produced on the same equipment."
"I recently visited the Chick-Fil-A in San Marcos. They do have Gluten Free menu options and they have a separate fryer for their waffle fries. I had a gluten free meal there and it was great! I don't think all locations have the separate fryer so make sure you ask if you go to another location. I just thought I would let you know." Lisa S., 5/10
"We have Chick Fil A here where I live and they have a very good GF menu on their website. They have a dedicated fryer for their waffle fries and many other items that are GF including the grilled chicken (its the only thing grilled there). They also have a GF carrot-raisin salad that is awesome."
"I was in Philly airport and asked for the sandwich without the bun, just put it in a box with lettuce and tomato. The counter person told me that they would just pull it off the bread anyway. I was shocked by her rudeness and won't ever eat there again." Lynn to SillyYak site, 3/08
"I went to the website and found the information at the above link. What are they thinking!!!
The first thing on the list is a sandwich (you have to scroll down to see the rest). They don't say don't eat the bread and the vinegar in the seasoning is from "various grain sources". I think I will continue to stay away from Chick-fil-a." To SillyYak site, 3/08
RJ's note: The vinegar should be fine - the harmful components to celiacs are removed during the distillation process of vinegar. (The same is true of distilled alcohol.)
"My daughter and I are thrilled to have a Chick-fil-a in a mall near our house. Sometimes we go there just for the waffles fries! The grilled chicken at ours has always been OK and never had an attitude there from workers. We are both very sensitive. We usually get the grilled chicken sandwich and fries, my daughter get a milkshake. You might want to go early before the crowds and talk to a manager, but it hasn’t been necessary for us." Cindy to SillyYak site, 3/08
Chula Vista (Eastlake Terraces)
2089 Olympic Parkway
Chula Vista, 91915
24794 Madison Avenue
Murrieta, CA 92562
3475 Marron Road
San Diego (Sport's Arena)
3570 Sports Arena Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92110
587 Grand Avenue
San Marcos, CA 92078
40531 Margarita Road
Temecula, CA 92591
On the way to L.A.: A Chick-fil-A is also located in Irvine on Jamboree Road in The Market Place (714) 730-9100