Last verified 4/11
1-800-235-2883, Ext. 0
Customers can get ingredient information by asking their barista or calling 1-800-235-LATTE (235-2883). Starbucks, depending on the size of the outlet, does sell some pre-packaged GF snacks that are labeled gluten free.
Customer service call on 4/11/11: The customer service representative said the only information he had was that Starbucks could not guarantee anything they served as gluten-free because of cross-contamination issues. He was not able to confirm the information given below.
Sent by email in 10/10 from Starbucks Customer Relations:
"Starbucks is unable to guarantee a 'gluten-free' environment in our retail
locations due to the potential for cross contamination with
gluten-containing products. The open environment and operating procedures of
our store locations may present additional risk for gluten-sensitive
customers aside from the gluten-containing ingredients themselves. 'Gluten-free' is a claim with specific requirements defined by government
agencies and industry standards. We are unable to make this claim on a
product unless the item is specifically formulated and manufactured to meet
the definition of the claim."
Sent by email in 12/10 from Starbucks Customer Relations: "The only syrup with gluten is Light Coffee Frappuccino Syrup. Java chips do contain wheat. Caramel Sauce, Caramel Brulee Sauce and Caramel Brulee Topping all contain corn syrup. There is always a chance of cross contamination, we can't guarantee anything being gluten- or corn-free."
The Blended Light Frap Mix contains gluten. The regular Frappuccino base mix does not contain gluten. Read the following blog, which also has a written response from Starbucks discussing their current policy. May, 2010
Also on the same topic read the Seattle's Times news story "New Frappuccino Recipe Deletes Dairy, Adds Gluten". 5/7